Timeline

What was decided and said, newest first. Each entry links to its source. The labels are explained on The Ledger.


October 16, 2026: District takes a two-week extension on a resident’s request for September’s paraprofessional coverage records

Record

A resident asked on October 7 for “existing records reflecting requests for substitute coverage for paraprofessional absences or vacancies from September 1 through September 30, 2026”, naming “the District’s existing Substitute History By Date report, or an equivalent existing report or electronic export” and six fields, including the “Filled/Replaced” indicator and the “Employer or staffing-provider category of the assigned substitute, if maintained”. On October 16, which the letter calls “the seven business day deadline” (it counts October 12, a state holiday, as a business day), the custodian wrote that “the District requires an additional two weeks (until October 30, 2026) to compile, review, and produce the potentially responsive records”. The copy received ends there, part way through the letter. The resident shared it with this ledger; their name and email address are removed.

Source: Custodian’s letter, October 16, 2026, as received


Ledger

The author of this site replied to the committee’s email, forwarding it to the district’s general contact address because it came from a no-reply address. The reply says that parents were “puzzled about the true meaning of this email”, that at least one of them “caught the ‘?utm_source=chatgpt.com’ in the URL for most the cited articles at the end of the email” (six of the eight reference links carry it; see the published copy of the email), and that the offer he has made in public comment at Board meetings, to help the district use “advanced tooling like AI”, specifically “to use AI well and responsibly”, still stands. The reply is published in full.

Source: Reply as sent, October 15, 2026


October 14, 2026: District takes a second two-week extension on a resident’s request for the EduStaff proposal, contract, and pricing

Record

A resident asked on September 18 for three records “concerning RFP No. 25-09, Staffing and Paraprofessional Services”: EduStaff’s complete proposal, “the executed contract between the District and Edustaff, including any exhibits, schedules, or amendments”, and its “pricing proposal, rate sheet, or fee schedule”. The custodian’s letter says that “On September 29, 2026, the District obtained an extension of the response deadline until October 14, 2026”, and that “in light of our current work demands, the District requires an additional two weeks (until October 28, 2026) to compile, review, and produce the potentially responsive records”, reserving “the right to obtain an additional extension of time if necessary” and citing N.J.S.A. 47:1A-5i and a 2016 Government Records Council decision. The Board rejected the proposals received under RFP CC 25-09 on June 16; the July 21 pricing addendum is not named in the request. The resident shared the letter with this ledger; their name is removed.

Source: Custodian’s letter, October 14, 2026


October 14, 2026: Union answers the Board’s email and describes the Board’s October 5 offer

Statement

The West Orange Education Association told its members it “categorically” denied “the insulting accusation that WE are to blame for the financial failings of the Board of Education”, answered the Board’s “70%” figure with “On average, New Jersey districts spend over 80% of their budgets on salary and benefits”, and announced a rally for Saturday, October 17. It reshared its October 5 account of the second fact-finding session, where it says the Board made “a REGRESSIVE offer” with three parts: “significantly less money than they budgeted”, eliminating longevity “for all new hires”, and freezing longevity “permanently”. It dates the negotiation from March 2025, with impasse in January 2026, mediation in March 2026, fact-finding on August 3, and a hearing set for January 7, 2027, and says that at the March 2026 mediation “the Board made no mention of the plan to outsource paras”. The Board’s proposal itself is not public. The message is undated on its face; it refers to the Board’s email as sent “today”, so it is placed on October 14. It reached this site on October 15.

Source: WOEA, Response to Message from the District, October 14, 2026 (copy); Original on the union’s mailing-list service


October 14, 2026: Board negotiations committee writes to families about the teacher contract and longevity pay

Statement

In an email to families, the Board’s negotiations committee said the district “continues to fully uphold our contractual obligations to educators” while facing “a multi-million dollar deficit”, that West Orange ranks “15th out of New Jersey’s 590 districts in total salary compensation packages”, and that longevity pay “is not widely provided to teachers working in other school districts across New Jersey”. It described West Orange’s longevity bonus as “currently the highest in the state with most of our eligible staff receiving roughly $10,000.00 or $12,000.00 in longevity bonuses annually”, and asked “What will this teacher contract cost over time?” The email lists among the year’s “painful adjustments” the “outsourced paraprofessional support”. The district’s own reappointment table from May shows a different picture of longevity amounts; see What the District Said.

Source: Email as received, October 14, 2026


October 14, 2026: Three public-records requests hand-delivered to the district

Record

The author of this site handed three requests under the Open Public Records Act to the custodian of records at the Board of Education’s Business Office, each date-stamped “Received Oct 14 2026”: for the paraprofessional staffing contract and billing (OPRA-001), for paraprofessional coverage records (OPRA-002), and for school schedules, teacher-absence coverage data, and any guidance on showing movies (OPRA-003). The seven-business-day response period runs to October 23, 2026. Each request’s full text, log, and every response as it arrives are on its page.

Source: OPRA-001 stamped receipt; OPRA-002 stamped receipt; OPRA-003 stamped receipt


September 28, 2026: District reports 176 of 244 paraprofessional positions filled

Statement

At the Board meeting, the Director of Human Resources reported that 244 paraprofessional positions are needed for 2026-27 and that 176 paraprofessionals were working: 13 in grant-funded or pension positions, 47 returning, and 116 new. Another 44 candidates were being onboarded and 24 positions were vacant. She said the district had held 354 interviews since July and was working with EduStaff to bring staff on. The administrator in charge of special services said seven registered behavior technicians from outside agencies were in classrooms as short-term support, with eight more to come. These figures are taken from the recording’s automatic captions.

Source: Meeting recording, from 53:12


September 16, 2026: District releases a list of 145 paraprofessionals and their employer to a resident

Record

Answering a resident’s September 4 request for “the list of names of paraprofessionals that are employed through Edustaff and assigned to work as paraprofessionals for West Orange School District for the 2026-2027 school year”, the custodian wrote on the seventh business day that the district “identified the enclosed five pages of records as responsive”. The record lists 145 people by name, assignment, and employer: 132 marked “Edustaff” and 13 marked “Employed by West Orange”. By building, the largest groups are West Orange High School (25), Kelly (18), Redwood (17), and St. Cloud (15); the three at the Early Childhood Learning Center are all district employees. Five assignments are labelled “Reassign 26-27” or “Additional 26-27”. The names are not published here; the copy below keeps the assignment and employer columns in the record’s order, and the counts come from a script in the site’s repository. The resident shared the response with this ledger; their name and address are removed.

Source: Custodian’s letter, September 16, 2026; The list, names removed, with counts


September 9, 2026: Superintendent announces a School Community Budget Council

Statement

By letter, the Superintendent invited families to join “the Superintendent’s School Community Budget Council”, made up of “one representative and one alternate from each of our schools” and “key district personnel”, with PTA leadership guiding who is selected. Its stated aim is “effective, long-term budgetary recommendations”. The letter does not say what authority the council has.

Source: Budget Council letter, September 9, 2026


August 24, 2026: Board approves Sunbelt Staffing for substitute staffing

Record

The Board approved a “Client Services Agreement between the West Orange Public School District and Sunbelt Staffing, LLC for providing substitute staffing services for the 2026-2027 school year.”

Source: Minutes, August 24, 2026, p. 12, item 20


July 21, 2026: Board approves a $12,000,000 EduStaff pricing addendum

Record

The Board approved “the EduStaff Pricing Schedule Addendum-Exhibit B for an estimated amount of $12,000,000”, by a vote of 4-0 with one member absent, and a revised Memorandum of Agreement with the West Orange Education Association “permitting the outsourcing of the paraprofessionals”. The minutes do not say what the addendum covers. Whether it covers paraprofessional staffing, and on what basis that work was awarded after the June rejection, is not stated in the posted minutes.

Source: Minutes, July 21, 2026, p. 13, Finance item 21, and p. 6, Personnel item 3(i)


June 16, 2026: Board approves 2026-27 health premium rates: medical and prescription up 11% to 27% by plan, dental 3%

Record

The Board approved “Health Benefits Costs for the 2026-2027 school year”, the July 1, 2026 renewal rates from the School Health Insurance Fund (SHIF), with Aetna for medical, Express Scripts for prescriptions, and Delta for dental. For one employee the NJ Educators Health Plan rose from $1,252 to $1,391 a month (11.1%) and its prescription plan from $236 to $285 (20.8%); the Open Access $10/$20 plan rose from $1,474 to $1,710 (16.0%) and the standard prescription plan from $268 to $340 (26.9%). Family coverage on the Educators plan with prescriptions is $4,911 a month, $58,932 a year. The prior year’s rates are in the June 16, 2025 minutes, pp. 17-19.

Source: Minutes, June 16, 2026, pp. 23-25; Minutes, June 16, 2025, pp. 17-19; How the Health Benefits Work


June 16, 2026: Board rejects the proposals it received for the staffing work

Record

At the same meeting the Board voted “to reject proposals received for the Competitive Contracting Request for Proposal CC 25-09 - Substitute Staffing and Paraprofessional Services.” The minutes give no reason.

Source: Minutes, June 16, 2026, p. 25, Finance item 29


June 16, 2026: Board approves union agreement permitting the outsourcing

Record

The Board approved “the Memorandum of Agreement with the West Orange Education Association permitting the outsourcing of the paraprofessionals pursuant to the terms contained in the Memorandum of Agreement.” The agreement itself is an attachment that is not part of the posted minutes.

Source: Minutes, June 16, 2026, p. 12, Personnel item 6


May 4, 2026: Board adds $797,076 to the budget above the levy cap for health premium increases

Record

At the budget hearing the Board resolved that it “includes in the budget a Health Care Costs adjustment as calculated in the budget software and pursuant to N.J.S.A. 18A:7F-38 subsection (d) in the amount of $797,076. The additional funds will be used to pay for the additional increases in health care premiums.” The subsection lets a district raise its tax levy above the 2% cap for health cost increases. The adopted budget’s “Personal Services-Employee Benefits” line is $40,348,140, against $35,087,587 the year before. What the district buys and pays is on How the Health Benefits Work.

Source: Minutes, May 4, 2026, p. 7; 2026-27 User Friendly Budget, p. 5; How the Health Benefits Work


May 4, 2026: Board adopts the 2026-27 budget

Press

Patch reported that the Board of Education “unanimously voted to approve the district’s 2026-2027 budget”, a $206,821,351 budget with “a 2.5 percent increase to the school portion of a local homeowner’s property taxes”, and that “the spending plan includes 77 staff cuts, in addition to outsourcing some services such as paraprofessionals.”

Source: Patch, May 5, 2026


April 29, 2026: Superintendent’s letter: $3 million in savings, “the same familiar faces”

Statement

In a letter to the community, the Superintendent wrote that outsourcing paraprofessional services “is a substantial $3 million savings that will reoccur year after year”, that “our students will continue to see the same familiar faces they rely on”, and that “there will be no rotation of paras as most paras are IEP driven.” The letter puts the budget shortfall at $13.5 million.

Source: Community budget letter, April 29, 2026, pp. 3-4


April 29, 2026: Proposals due for substitute and paraprofessional staffing

Record

Sealed proposals under Competitive Contracting Request for Proposals CC 25-09, “Substitute Staffing and Paraprofessional Services”, were due at 10:00 a.m.

Source: RFP CC 25-09 legal advertisement


July 16, 2025: District releases the EduStaff agreement seven business days after a records request

Record

Answering a resident’s OPRA request for “a true copy of your 2022 contract with Edustaff”, received July 7, 2025, the Business Administrator wrote that “the seven business day deadline to respond to your request is July 16, 2025. As such, the District is timely responding”, and enclosed the agreement. The request and response were made through OPRAmachine, where they are public.

Source: Response letter, July 16, 2025; OPRAmachine: West Orange Board of Education


January 13, 2022: District signs a master staffing agreement with EduStaff for substitute staff

Record

The Business Administrator signed a “Supplemental Staffing Services Master Agreement” with EDUStaff, LLC of Grand Rapids, Michigan, effective January 13, 2022 and running “until June 30, 2024 unless terminated earlier”, extendable by “a simple extension addendum”. Exhibit A covers substitute teachers and “all other supplied staff”; Exhibit B prices “Classroom-Based Substitute Staff” at “30.00% of Staff Gross Payroll” and school nurses at 33%. EduStaff “shall invoice Client bi-weekly”, itemized “in the form of a ‘PDF’ document for auditing and an ‘Excel’ document”, and dispatches through “the AESOP (Dispatch) system”. Either party may end it on sixty days’ notice. The “EduStaff Pricing Schedule Addendum-Exhibit B” the Board approved on July 21, 2026 shares its name with this agreement’s pricing exhibit; whether it amends this agreement or a later one is not stated in the minutes. The copy here was released by the district on July 16, 2025 in answer to another resident’s records request made through OPRAmachine.

Source: Master Agreement with Exhibits A and B, 13 pages